A Brief History:

The department of Physics was started in the year 1946, when the college was declared open by His Highness Sri JayachamarajaWodeyar, Maharaja of Mysore with the objective of promoting not only the pursuit of knowledge but also the development of true human values. The department gratefully acknowledges the services rendered by former faculty members who were the pioneers to lay the foundation of the department.Some of the Eminent Members are Prof. Srinivas Rao, who headed the department from its inception in the year 1946. Prof. K.N. Sheshadri, formerly HoD, Prof. U.R.Rao, Formerly Chairman of ISRO, Sri. Adoor Venkat Rao retired Legal Secretary, Govt. of Karnataka, Prof. N.K. Vishwanath, an eminent teacher, Prof. S.R. Shankar Narayana, formerly HoD and author of a number of books in Physics, Prof. G. Shivaram Prasad, an alumnus and a teacher par excellence, Prof. K.R. Jaganathaiah Setty, formerly HoD and a practitioner of Transcendental Meditation, Prof. M.S. Jaganath, an alumnus and formerly HoD, Prof. R.S. Nidhi, an alumnus, Mrudangam Vidwan and formerly HoD. Over the years the department has grown drawing students from every corner of India and across the world.

The present faculty:

Support staff:

Mr. Alex Rodrigues


The department organized the following programmes:

  • Zonal level Science Exhibition, 2008-2009.
  • UGC sponsored Two days State level seminar on emerging trends in liquid crystals and coordination compounds, 2009-2010.
  • Two days regional level seminar on Photonics and Electronics is association with FPET, 2011-2012.
  • One day workshop on Telescope making in association with Mysore Science Foundation, 2012-2013.

Programmes attended by the faculty:

Faculty members Ms. G. Rajalakshmi and Ms. Shobana Thomas attended twelve days workshop conducted by IIT Bombay held under the National Mission on Education through ICT (MHRD) and National Center for Photo voltaic Research and Education and they received a kit of solar simulator and PV module worth Rs.30, 000.Using this kit one new experiment is introduced in the laboratory.Ms. Shobana Thomas was awarded with certificate of excellence in this programme.

The department conducts regularly contact classes for the distance education programme of Kuvempu University (UG & PG),National Graduate Physics Examination (NGPE).

ScienceExhibition for Semi urban schools and Laboratory visits for P.U students The Department of Physics and Electronics have developed ensemble a photosensitive circuit to automatically control light switches in the campus.

Mr. S. Jeyaseelan is a resource person in the committee to develop science in school (CDSS) scheme organized by University of Mysore. A trophy was donated by Mr. Jeyaseelan for the Philo’s cup Mysore city inter collegiate hockey tournament.

Ms. Shobana Thomas was invited as a resource person by SarvashikshaAbhiyan IGNOU New Delhi, to give interactive talk at Gyanavani, Mysore on Teaching concepts in science using real life situation Teaching and learning techniques in science.

Future Plan of Action:

It has launched an M.Sc. Physics course from the academic year 2014 onwards for which

the syllabus is already approved in the BOS meeting.

It has also planned to develop a well-equipped PG laboratory and to develop a research

lab to facilitate more research activities and to avail more research projects in the years to

come and to have a tie up with industries for students to do projects and get better exposure.